First(?) impressions

Allen

The game tells me I've played it for about 24 hours now and I just experienced my first temporal storm, so I thought now would be a good time as any to write up my experience with the game so far.

Overall, I enjoyed the game quite a lot. Everything looks really nice, the hands-on crafting was fun, and there's a lot of stuff to get into. The chiseling system is also really cool, though I haven't nearly enough artistic talent to make full use of it. The crop nutrition is super easy to understand, which was nice. I initially thought ores were really hard to find, but once I started playing for a while, I kinda realized that A: copper is freaking everywhere, and B: Copper is perfectly good for 94% of things you'll do.

Some (granted rather minor)annoyances I had were:

1. Inability to carry large loads over large distances. Maybe I had a really unlucky spawn, but I had neither fire clay, chalk/limestone, or much ores other than copper and quartz near my spawn, so I ended up having to do a lot of walking around for stuff. It gets better as you get better bags, but long distance exploration/resource gathering is still pretty annoying since there are multiple things you can find that you'd want to carry, so you often have to leave stuff behind if you're off exploring any respectable distance.

2. Gathering seashells is really annoying. There's like 6 different types with 4~5 color variations, none of them stack, and each seashell gives iirc 2 lime each. Inventory space is limited, and you need loads of seashells to do anything more than very small scale lime stuff. Lots of trips, lots of back and forth, pretty annoying all things considered.