Large scale world generation

AdrianNumbers

I would like to say first that im not a coder by any chance so my logic here can be entirely wrong but still based on my limited knowlage it looks fine so i decided to post this idea.

On small scale game world generation is already briliant but the more you zoom out on map the more it look like just random noise. Solution i though of is based on two things height maps and marching squares techniqe. 

Process could look something like this

1. Generator generates a contour map of tectonic plates based on world dimentions , seed , type of generation (in settings there would be an list of possible algorythms like : continets , pangea , islands and so on) , other settings like water procentage and provided algorythm using marching squares. (Resolution could be down to chunks or even group of them as this map is just a reference point for generator to use down the line) On this step generator also decides which plates will oceans and which continets. I also sets "movement" vector for each plate based on set of rules (for example ocean plates are more likely to move away from each other)

2. Using map from step 1 as base generator produces height map (again using marching squares) of terrain formation taking into consideration how doferent plates interact with eachother on borders

Ocean plates - O

Continental plates - C

O->I<-O underwater mountain range , islands

O<-I->O underwater rifts or vulcanos , vulcanic islands

O->I->O just a normal seabed or lesser versions of all other types of O-I-O border

C->I<-C mountain range

O->I<-C mountain range, clifs 

And many more possible combinations

End product of step 2 looks like a topographic map resolution down to at least chunks maybe higher like 1/4 or 1/8 of chunk for Z and X cords and 4 , 2 and 1 respectively for Y

3. Adding rock type areas acording to set of rules and map from step 2