Does /moddb command come with security risks?

MazorNoob

As a newbie admin I was surprised to learn that there exists a /moddb command that allows anyone with server admin role to install and remove mods. That immediately got me thinking:

* Doesn't it trivially lead to a limited privilege escalation, from a player with an admin role to being able to do anything on the target box as the user that's running the server? Just push a malicious harmony mod to the db, install it on the server with /moddb and you're done. I don't think VS moddb is moderated to en extent that such an attack would be impossible.

* If that's the case, is there a way to disable the moddb command for all users, including admin? I don't run my server as root of course, but I'd still rather not have any admin I appoint snooping around the box as a regular user either. I'd also rather have admin be unable to do that either, in case vs ever has an exploit that gives a user admin rights.

Why not just limit who you give admin access to? Or are you getting at that there should be a separate Moderator class with a limited subset of admin privileges? I'm pretty sure you can do that through /role and /player. At least in a different voxel game (no, not THAT voxel game) that was exactly how it was done. By default, there were only Admin and Player classes. Any other classes you wanted were defined at the console, or, ideally, in the config.