Day 1 and the fire pit "recipe".

Gazz

When I started playing, I just jumped in. Did not even glance at any guides. What's the worst that could happen, right?

A lot of the game can indeed be figured out with some effort and ingame means.
One thing can not and that is the fire pit.

I looked through all the logs, sticks, wood types I had but found no hint on how to create something like a campfire.
I had found "firewood" in the ingame handbook. That sounded important but again - it wasn't helpful.
I tried using/placing/crouching... nothing worked with any kind of wood.

Using out-of-game means I much later saw that to start creating the fire pit you need an item that you will not have unless you use a specific tool and use it to cut grass for no particular reason.

That's 2 long shots to even get the right item you need and then even then it (the grass) does not even give you a hint on what's likely it's most important use.

I suggest to... change that.
Initiate the fire pit creation with sticks instead of grass and put a hint on the item description of the sticks.
As long as this process starts with some kind of wood this would be a lot easier to figure out.

Edited by Gazz

Hey Gazz!

The moment you started your first game there was a nice little window sending you here because some things are a bit hard to figure out and the ingame help isn't fleshed out yet.

As for your suggestion to change the firepit creation...

Vintage Storys main charmpoint is realism (well as much realism as you will get in a world made out of blocks with temporal storms and creepy things that wanny eat you at night and in caves)