Steam Deck + PC

Deez Hnutz

Hello beautiful people,

I recently started playing VS again (after beating BG3, Starfield, and CP2077+expansion), and I've been switching back and forth between the steam deck (running a LAN server to keep playing on the same world.)

I have run into an issue though: I am logged out of either device every time I play on the other one. I tried searching the forum for a solution, but nothing came back (maybe I just used the wrong search terms, or was too specific?).

I believe the solution to this problem would be to lock down the file containing the logon credentials so that the game can't remove them when it checks with the verification server. I've searched through files, and online to find where the login creds are saved so that I can either make them read only on windows, or remove edit privileges on steam deck. However, I have had no luck, so I came here to see if anyone else has found the file containing the logon creds. If nothing else, I can just edit the executables to stop doing the verification check, but I'd rather not.

Any help would be appreciated. Thank you! 

39 minutes ago, Deez Hnutz said:

I believe the solution to this problem would be to lock down the file containing the logon credentials so that the game can't remove them when it checks with the verification server.

Hmmm. Now mind you, I don't actually know how it works under the hood, but this behavior sounds a whole lot like it isn't actually the game that keeps the credentials - and rather that the auth server does. I mean, technically the game does store something, as it allows you to log in while offline as long as you have authenticated against the server at least once, but the server likely has exclusive authority whenever it is involved.