Ingame help menu and discovery

First of all I want to say this is my first time posting, and this is one of my favorite games ever, having played close to 1000 games.
This game is what I always dreamed minecraft could be and it still surprises me everyday a little bit. From the feeling of being poor and discovering little things and crafting with molds or smithing stuff to the little handcrafted ruins spread across the map.

One thing that I think slightly detracts from the feeling of discovering something new is how the help menu lets you see all the items in the game instantly thus spoiling a bit what you can do.
Although I highly praise this menu for it's detailed information on everything thus removing the need to look stuff up in external wikies, I do think that you should only be able to see an item on the wiki once you have discovered all the components for it (by hovering your cursor over an item component)
For example you want to craft some reeds bandage, if you hover over reeds and horsetail, a new pop-up should appear saying "New recipe unlocked: bandage"

I think this would greatly help retain the sense of wonder before discovering things.

Welcome!

I vacillate on a progressive mode. While I love the idea, I'm afraid it would be a little clunky. For example, think about making steel. Or even the various level of bricks. Why would one even think to look for the unusual olivine or downright scarce ilmenite, let alone running them through a pulverizer? Why would anyone think to use a chest or a chute to automate it, or even bother looking for limestone to make leather?

While slowly adding things as you find the ingredients appeals to me, in such a vastly involved game as VS, I can't see how it could be done well. 

• Like 4

It depends on how you want to look at it, are you a knowledgeable person who comes from a world that had these items? If so, then why not have knowledge of what you need and how to make it.