New player experience/barriers/suggestions

Trowzers

Hi, I started playing a month ago, and while Kurazarrh's series got me smoothly through most of the early game, I did write a few notes as I went a long that I thought would be worth putting down here. Note, I was using the last stable release (1.16.5). A lot of this is just stuff I couldn't find in the handbook that would be a good addition to save people getting stuck/having to google or wasting resources trying to work it out.

• login email case sensitive (got stuck logging in until I figured this out, as my browser was adding a capital) Maybe it shouldn't be case sensitive if people are using an email to log in?
  • Game mode configuration settings very confusing if you've never played before but some settings that increase the difficulty/cut out aspects of the game (such as prospecting pick and exclusive recipes) it's debatable whether they should be turned off by default as I see that being confusing.
  • A way to save new game configuration settings so we don't have to tick everything every time we start a new world
  • how to get food from crock?
  • how much do crocks hold? (ie how much do I need to cook to fill one)
  • how many copper nuggets do I need? How many in an ingot/tool/anvil?
  • Conversion table for alloys? (this would be okay even on a wiki if not in the handbook, it'd just be great to have it all on one page)
  • How do I go down ladders? (this wasn't in keyboard configuration, IIRC, as it's the same as crouch, so I had to google it)
  • Map colour picker (I see that's in the new update - yay!)
  • How to change modes for the prospecting pick? (Eventually figured is was F just like clay and anvil, but still got stuck at first)
  • Animals won't eat parsnip but I can still put it in a trough? (fussy pigs!)