Soil quality early game: how to find?

WanderingQuill

Probably dumb but I'm pretty new to Vintage Story. I spawned in and explored a bit until I found an area that I liked, with common rainfall and some flat land, with forest and some rolling hills not too far away.

I have now spent all of spring and into summer desperately searching for anything better than low fertility soil . Everything is low fert or forest floor. Am I going the wrong way? Is there something I should be looking for besides rainfall being common? At this point I'm about to plant in low fert soil just so I don't starve to death in the winter, but it seems weird that in a common rainfall area I can't find any medium fertility anywhere in any direction so far for 100s of blocks.

"Forest floor" is actually a mask over the soil type. If you dig that up, you still get one of the standard soil types. So it's worth digging a block occasionally to see what it actually is.

Otherwise, yes, plant your farm on the soil you have. Planting earlier is always better. Any P-type crops you may have (onion, parsnip, peanut) can be supported by bonemeal as soon as you have a quern. Berry bushes will help you a lot, as they do not care about fertility or nutrients.

And like any other question that starts with "how to find", the answer in VS is likely to be: walk moar! ;)

• Like 1

17 hours ago, Streetwind said:

"Forest floor" is actually a mask over the soil type.

Oh, I guess I misunderstood. I thought it was always low now. Guess I'll have to start checking.

And, yeah, plant early, plant often. Even on medium fert, you won't be bringing in flax until late July. If you don't have medium fert or better by then, take your seeds and, like the plover or the house marten, seek warmer climes in winter. You can grip it by the husk.