If possible, make it easier to for people to purchase and install this game.

Hello! :)

Ok, let me see if I can clarify on the title. I've been using Steam for a few years now, and I have to say it really gets you used to it doing everything for you. And that is saying a lot since prior to that I manually installed all of my games. The point is, the process of purchasing and installing this game is bit much, and may deter some people. Specifically what I am talking about is the the dual account registration and game key registration. I understand the need for protecting your game and content you make, no arguments there. What I want to suggest is a way to stream line this process you already have, so it is less work. Automate, more of it in some way. I found myself confused by the dual account registration, and even logging into this forum, it asks for my e-mail instead of my game user name.

Is there a way to make it so only one account is needed, and maybe suggest possible available user name variants if the one you tried is taken?

Going with a platform that is trustworthy and usable might help, like GOG?

https://www.gog.com/galaxy

GOG Galaxy is basically a deployable platform for indie titles, unlike Steam I don't think they take any cuts?

EDIT: Looks like they do, and things has changed over the years.

Itch.io lets the developer set the cut, but there seems to be technical issues with it's backend regarding consumer friendly features.

In the end though, I think Vintage Story might take the same approach as Mojang did and use their own launcher for their own online communities and maybe public servers of sorts one day?

Edited by Dra6o0n

On 4/3/2024 at 10:32 AM, Dra6o0n said:

GOG Galaxy is basically a deployable platform for indie titles, unlike Steam I don't think they take any cuts?

EDIT: Looks like they do, and things has changed over the years.