Better modding guide/tutorial?

JamesB

I'm trying to learn the C# modding process for the game but I'm finding the guide on the wiki to be not very helpful.  I'm a developer myself (mostly Python), so I thought I'd be able to pick this up pretty quickly.  But it feels like the guide assumes a lot of prior knowledge.  Especially when it comes to setting up a Visual Studio project and getting started with the mod.  It starts off with walking through how to code for a trampoline, but it doesn't mention importing the libraries.  It only shows that at the end with the full code example but doesn't explain why you need it.  Plus, it doesn't really walk you through how to test out this code in game.  Any ways, it's not a very comprehensive guide and seems to require some advanced knowledge.

Granted, I've only done a handful of C based projects in the past, so I am missing some knowledge.  But I was hoping for more of a basic step-by-step guide for writing a C# mod.  So does anyone know if a more comprehensive guide exists?  I'm really interested in learning the modding system as there are things I'd like to try and add.  But this has been a bit of a wall for me.  Maybe I need to go and take a few C# courses first?

So let's talk about the trampoline mod in particular.  At the bottom of that page, download the for VS v1.9 version of that.  Now you can drop that zip file directly into your mods folder  (C:\Users\<user>\AppData\Roaming\VintagestoryData\Mods ) and take it for a spin, but since the code isn't compiled (no .dll files), I like to unzip it first and drop THAT unzipped folder into the Mods folder instead.

Untitled1.jpg.7fdc97bf71569768bb717716c3ecdde4.jpg 

Fire up Vintage Story, check the Mod Manager to ensure that the Trampoline mod has loaded successfully.  Start a new Single Player game (creative world), grab a couple of Trampolines and try them out.