A few basic ideas

bbushh

I thought I would start with a few things I HATE about Minecraft..

a) Nowhere is special (underground especially)....where should I mine?.....who cares...one place is as good as the next. The mining in MC is brutal....tedium with no chance of anything interesting happening,,,,awful! I feel there should be regions of rich mineralization with many more areas with little or none...this will encourage players to travel and explore the huge map which is MC's best feature....it would also cause players to build infrastructure to move resources to areas they are needed.

b) The idea for having mobs pop into existence and then burn up in the sun was a good idea.....5 years ago!.....now the mobs are a pain in the neck and being able to harvest resources off them is dreadful. 

c) I work in the forest industry and I figgered out that one person in MC can carry over 100 truckloads of logs in their pocket!!...and then popular mods add backpacks!?.....SCREAM!! 

d) Again...I work in the forest industry and I resent how trees grow at such and absurd rate....this renders them virtually without value....of course in game forest fires would help alleviate this :)

e) The ability to immediately build a furnace and then quickly smelt anything is crazy....the chests that seem to be pocket dimensions also suck....and the magic work benches that do....ummmm....basically magic are awful.....and how the heck do I know how to do all this stuff?....

I could go on at some length about the things I dislike but here's the thing....I LOVE MC!! I have played little else for the last 5 years and have been saddened by the fact that it has progressed very little...a few mods have tried....TerraFirmaCraft, Lord of the Rings, Millenaire, MineFantasy and Vintagecraft but I do feel much more could be done....maybe it's just me.

A few ideas: