Very bad optimization compared to v15

Sunbather

Hello there,

I started playing Vintage Story with v15 or v14, and got really enamoured with the game. Still, I put it aside since I wanted to wait for some more features and especially some more optimization.

Back then, my fps oscillated between 60 fps and 110 fps, but were mostly around 80 fps no matter the area I was in.

Full of anticipation of how v17 would play, I reinstalled the game again yesterday night but soon was shocked about how worse the optimization has become. I constantly dipped below 45 fps (imagine the feeling of that on a 144hz display!), hovered mostly around 65 fps and randomly got 80 fps not really in relation to what happened on the screen. That does not mean a lot, I know  that --- but when I am standing on a mountain overlooking a lake with activated ripples and all, and I get constant 70, and then I stand in front of a mountain my visiblity mostly blocked and I plummet down to 45 fps then there seems to be something off. Also, I was walking around across the landscape and without the landscape changing much, the usage of my GPU jumped from 60 % to 98% within the blink of an eye, jumped down back back again and so forth.

Then a storm kicked in and visibility was only 5 meters or so. My fps were a constant 80 now. So I got the hunch that the visibility range is at fault and I put it very low (before, the slider was at about 2/3) and I gained some extra fps. I also toyed around with literally every other setting but never was I able to regain the same high fps that I experienced when I was playing the game in its v15 iteration. And back then, I even played with the (now discontinued) shader mod!

All in all, a very disheartening experience and I just closed the game after experimenting for 20 minutes with the settings and overclocking my CPU even up to 4.25 Ghz.