Generating the world

Stroam

I've looked into worldgen from time to time changing my opinions as I went. I've now changed m mind yet again.

I've wanted world wrapping where if one goes off one side of the map they come back on another. I wanted this to limit spread of players, make world generation easier, and balance out travel distances such that someone at the center of the map didn't have and advantage over others. Then I looked at the technical hurdles and decided that both north to south wrapping and east to west wrapping was not worth the time spent on the technical hurdles that happened at the corners.

So I decided just east to west wrapping was fine and that the north pole and south pole could just go on forever. Then I studied the rationals behind flat earthers and other fantasy maps with a world edge. I thought about the gains to the gameplay of playing on such maps. I made the following list for what I was looking for.

• A variety of climates so as to provide enough diversity for player enjoyment
  • Some sort of game logic that determines placement of the climates that players can understand.
  • A map where the center is not an advantage.
  • Resources tend to be clumped and not near each other to encourage diversity and trade.
  • Encourages a variety of travel methods

After all my research and considerations I came upon the notion that we don't need world wrap to make the center not an advantage. As obvious as it may sound, it took me a long time to come to the conclusion that by making the center a place one would not want to make a base it solves the issue without world wrap.

This idea brought me back to the eyeball planet. There's several issues with the eyeball planet but it does tick all the items in the list which is why I think it's a good candidate. Just need to solve some of it's issues first.