Survival is Optional

PhotriusPyrelus

DISCLAIMER:  I'm very new to the game.  I've played quite a lot the past few days, but as far as progression my next goal is making a Copper Anvil.  Lotsa Lead, not so much copper...  So maybe something changes later.  I think it's almost September in my game, and this has been on my mind as I'm staring down my first Winter with an empty cellar.
--- --- --- --- --- --- --- --- --- --- --- --- --- --- --- --- --- --- --- --- --- --- --- --- --- --- ---

Much like in MineCraft, it really bothers me that for a "survival" game, survival doesn't really seem to be all that important, it's really only as meaningful as the player chooses to it to be.

If I'm starving near my spawn point, why would I eat instead of just letting myself die and getting 50% satiation for 'free'?  Through this lens, the importance of food preparation and preservation seem almost kind of superfluous.

I understand you don't want the player to respawn starving because if you died a thousand blocks away, deep in a cave, you don't have time to go wolf down a meal and sprint to where you think you died and spend frantic minutes trying to find where exactly you died.  But this does raise an issue that if you're just building around your spawn point, you get essentially free food forever.

MineCraft almost kinda sorta solved this with its levels, having you irrecoverably lose a vast amount of the XP you've acquired if you die.  Buuuuuuuut...  you can make manifold variations of XP-farms which render that a non-issue.  Also, that's a stick, and I prefer carrots; that is, I'd prefer a system which rewards survival rather than punishes death.

I hate identifying problems without offering solutions, but I don't really have enough information what with not having a seat at the developer's table.

Perhaps this has already been discussed to death.