Late Copper Age Mining

Cherriberri

I'm a new player, playing for the first time, and I for some reason could never find almost any surface copper spots.
I walked in grid patterns picking up rocks to mark where I'd been and make sure I didn't mistake copper for just a rock as I actually had with the first deposit, which was right near where I settled at first.

I spent a very long time doing this and I only found two deposits. I ended up panning for enough copper to get a hammer and a pick to dig under those two, but now I realize... I still need to find more and seem to be doing something wrong.

Hello, I am also new to the game and the truth the best way I found to get copper was to go to an area with caves and use the prospecting pick. and when I got an area with high copper I entered.
I usually find from one to 2 large deposits (if I got out alive).

To find surface copper all you can really do is run all over creation looking for those little copper bits (or as noted, pan sand and/or gravel).  Some tricks to make finding surface bits easier to find:

1. Run around sand and gravel areas - sparse grass makes seeing surface nuggets easier to spot from longer distances
2. Pillar up (like a ladder) about 20-30 blocks.  Higher perspective makes it easier to see surface nuggets.

Be sure to mark the block of the nuggets was picked up from.  Surface copper deposits will form directly below the nugget but could be up to 10 blocks below the nugget.  I've had some cases where I've had to dig through 6 or 7 blocks of rock before finding the copper.

1 hour ago, Maelstrom said:

To find surface copper all you can really do is run all over creation looking for those little copper bits (or as noted, pan sand and/or gravel).  Some tricks to make finding surface bits easier to find:

1. Run around sand and gravel areas - sparse grass makes seeing surface nuggets easier to spot from longer distances