Smithing & Anvils alternate

redram

I wanted to suggest an alternate system for smithing, and I figured I'd best do it now while survival is the focus. I must admit first that I am not a coder, and also I have not played vintagecraft. Only vintagestory. My VS smithing knowledge comes only from watching VC videos. That said, hopefully I can still contribute some useful thoughts.

THE PROBLEM

Spoiler

The problem as I see it right now, is that the VC smithing system (to which VS aspires right now if I understand correctly) – is basically a stripped down version of TFC. The TFC system is a fine balancing act: randomized target, keeping the forge fueled, keeping the ingots heated correctly without melting, keeping flux in play, and a strong hammer. It's something of an art irl. The VC system removes the discovery element of a randomized target, and removes the tension of melting ingots. It removes flux. You're basically left with a system of heating the ingots, making sure you've got a strong hammer, and playing Simon Says with some buttons. It's not very compelling. The buttons use the same symbols as TFC, but have lost all the meaning of moving a target by different amounts, in different directions.

Now, my impression of VC/VS right now is that it attempts to remove some of the frustrating aspects of TFC, of which smithing can be one. Specifically the randomized target. Fair enough. The interesting thing about this though, is that it opens up an avenue for a smithing interface which is more 'real', which TFC cannot do if it is to maintain it's random target element. I think my proposal would help to make the smithing system more engaging, but without adding frustrating randomness.

THE BASIC PROPOSAL