Vegan Mod Request/Suggestion

Victor Scrooge

Hello, I didn't find anything about this with the search tool, so I start the topic myself. 

I was wondering if you could give people like me who are not really enjoying to act against our real life philosophy something, to avoid killing everything around us like crazy. 

Like the old vegan mod from MC 1.7.10.

I know a lot of people really hate that kind of question or suggestion. I am not really good at modding so I can just turn to this. 

Best wishes 

Edited by Victor Scrooge

It's actually possible to get all your nutritional needs met in the game without hunting/killing animals. The nutritional categories are fruit, vegetable, protein, and grain. Obviously fruit/veg/grain are not animal products, and for protein you can use soybeans.

As far as I know there are not natural materials that can give the same performance of leather. 

About the cruelty issue, you may avoid to hunt but still you'll have to defend yourself against hostile mobs so... I don't think that it's possible to go 100% vegan without radically redesign the game.

It would be  fairly simple to mod in an alternate backpack recipe that uses linen.   As for armor, there are actually already models for padded alternates to leather jerkin.  The eventual intent is that you can use either linen or leather as the basis for the armors (except lamellar).  I don't really recall exactly why they didn't make it into the armor update...And the existing gambeson is fairly decent armor in itself. 

• Thanks 1