Why Vintage Story not being popular might not be such a bad thing.

Perlin

Ever since I started playing Vintage Story, I've seen a lot of people saying stuff along the lines of "Man, this game is underrated", or "Wow, this game should be more popular." And while there are obvious financial advantages to a bigger playerbase for the developers, I don't think enough attention is put on the advantage of a smaller playerbase, which is the community.

Many people consider Minecraft's golden age it's time in alpha, when the game had a small playerbase. There is a charm to a smaller community, that a bigger community can't hope to compete with. People can get to know each other very easily, and there is far less potential for drama and toxicity. If the developers are making enough money to work on the Vintage Story full time right now, then I think they're in a good spot. Vintage Story gives off very good vibes, which is because of the thought and care put into the game, but also the small community playing a role as well.

• Like 8

it's not inherently a bad thing, but it's not really a good thing either. not everyone cares for a nice small official community. the fact the game gets 50-100 new players daily and the forums/discord stays the same implies most don't IMO. a larger community gives way to more diversely populated public servers, more player created content (mods mostly, but also includes content like videos, letsplays, and player creativity), it also gives the dev team more funds to expand on the game, quicker, better, and larger, while still retaining quality. I'm content with what the game offers now but if i was given two choices in front of me, I'll take a bigger game at the sacrifice of the official community any day, because a proper large playerbase will be fragmented to allow any type of self-moderating community to form, allowing all types of players to enjoy the game.